Sportmedizinische Ambulanz Universität Wuppertal

Research group: Cardiovascular, haemostaseological and molecular Sports Medicine

The research group "cardiovascular, hemostaseological and molecular sports medicine" works on research tasks in the field of cardiovascular diseases, such as coronary heart disease, arteriosclerosis and heart failure. This group further investigates the area of hemostaseological diseases and others, examining the influence of acute physical activity up to athletic training both on application and basic level.

The aim of these research approaches is to uncover fundamental and also including molecular mechanisms in the pathophysiology of these diseases and, subsequently to develop optimised treatment protocols for the use of physical activity. This serves to improve the quality of life of patients suffering from these diseases, to improve diagnostics or, at best, to directly prevent the occurrence of these diseases.

A second focus is the analysis of molecular markers that play a role in inflammatory processes in the joints of hemophilic patients. For this purpose, corresponding markers are investigated in transverse and longitudinal sections.

Research focuses:

  • Studies on biomarkers (especially miRNAs) in sports cardiology
  • Comparison of the outcome of different training programs in rehabilitation for patients with cardiovascular diseases
  • Short and long-term effects of the different training programs in rehabilitation on relevant biomarkers
  • Identification and analysis of specific inflammatory biomarkers in patients with haemophilia

Members of the research group:

  • Univ.- Prof. Dr. med. Dr. phil. Thomas Hilberg
  • PD. Dr. rer. nat. Udo Wehmeier
  • Dr. med. Chi Nam Nguyen
  • Dr. med. Thorsten Hagedorn
  • Dipl. Sportwiss. Holger Stephan

Publications

Sportmedizinische Ambulanz Universität Wuppertal

Forschungsgruppe kardiovaskuläre, hämostaseologische und molekulare Sportmedizin

Die Forschungsgruppe „kardiovaskuläre, hämostaseologische und molekulare Sportmedizin“ bearbeitet Forschungsaufgaben im Bereich kardiovaskulärer Erkrankungen wie KHK, Arteriosklerose und Herzinsuffizienz sowie im Bereich hämostaseologische Erkrankungen sowie weitere und untersucht dabei den Einfluss von akuter körperlicher Aktivität bis hin zu sportlichem Training sowohl auf Anwendungs- als auch auf Grundlagenebene.

Ziel dieser Forschungsansätze ist es, grundlegende, auch molekulare, Mechanismen in der Pathophysiologie dieser Erkrankungen aufzudecken und auf der Basis dieses Wissen optimierte Behandlungsprotokolle für den Einsatz körperlicher Aktivität zu entwickeln. Dies dient der Verbesserung der Lebensqualität von Patient*innen, die an diesen Krankheiten leiden, einer verbesserten Diagnostik oder im besten Fall der direkten Vermeidung des Auftretens dieser Erkrankungen.

Ein zweiter Schwerpunkt liegt in der Analytik molekularer Marker, die bei den Entzündungsprozessen in den Gelenken hämophiler Patient*innen eine Rolle spielen. Dazu werden entsprechende Marker im Quer- und Längsschnitt untersucht.

Konkrete Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Untersuchungen zu Biomarkern (insbesondere miRNAs) in der Sportkardiologie
  • Vergleich des Outcomes unterschiedlicher Trainingsprogramme in der Rehabilitation bei Patient*innen mit kardiovaskulären Erkrankungen
  • Akute und langfristige Auswirkungen der unterschiedlichen Trainingsprogramme in der Rehabilitation auf relevante Biomarker
  • Identifikation und Analyse spezifischer inflammatorischer Biomarker bei Patient*innen mit Hämophilie

Mitglieder der Forschungsgruppe:

  • Univ.- Prof. Dr. med. Dr. phil. Thomas Hilberg
  • PD. Dr. rer. nat. Udo Wehmeier
  • Dr. med. Chi Nam Nguyen
  • Dr. med. Thorsten Hagedorn
  • Dipl. Sportwiss. Holger Stephan

Publikationen